Synology 2022 Launch Event Confirmed – December 2nd 2021

Synology 2022 & Beyond – Video Streamed Event on Thursday 2nd December

Good news for anyone who has been wondering about what to expect from Synology in 2022, with the announcement of the global event ‘Synology 2022 and Beyond’, arriving next week. Synology has been hosting live events physically in numerous locations globally for almost a decade now and (as of last year) starting to move towards a global, video streamed event (for obvious reasons). These events have always been a great way for new and old followers of Synology solutions to find out how the brand has been performing, what its plans are for the next period and ultimately a good idea of what the brand will be prioritizing in its ecosystem. Last year we saw a large degree of focus towards DSM 7, their cloud platform’s evolution and indications on where they see their premiere products going. It’s a shame that we are still not returning to numerous, physical launch events around the globe, as this generally means a larger focus on hardware. No doubt a few planned 2022 (and even 2023) solutions will be revealed, but typically a global video streamed event means a greater focus on software and services. Still, this has always been a strong area for Synology and therefore still worth following.

How and Where Can I Watch the Synology 2022 Video Streamed Event?

The Synology 2022 and Beyond event has still yet to confirm how the event will be displayed at the time of writing. Last year te even was hosted via youtube and was then shown via a series of YouTube videos from the official Synology YouTube channel. I will update this article as soon as details on where to watch the Synology 2022 event as it gets confirmed.

What Time Does the Synology 2021 Event Start?

The Synology 2022 and Beyond event is going to start on Thursday, December 2nd for global streaming. Depending on your location and time zone, that means it will go live at:

Thursday 2nd December 2021

  • 9AM PST (USA)
  • 10AM MST (USA)
  • 11AM CST (USA)
  • 12  NOON EST (USA)
  • 2PM Brazil UTC-3
  • 5PM GMT London, UK
  • 6PM CET Berlin, Germany
  • 8PM MSK Moscow, Russia
  • 9PM Dubai UAE
  • 22:30PM IST Mumbai, India

Friday 3rd December 2021

  • 1AM Singapore UTC+8
  • 1AM CST Bejing China
  • 2AM JST, Tokyo, Japan
  • 4AM AEDT Sydney, Australia
  • 6AM NZDT Auckland, New Zealand

What Do We Expect at the Synology 2021 Launch Event?

At this time, Synology is being characteristically quiet about the contents of their ‘Synology 2022 and Beyond’ event. Typically these events are introduced with a summary of how the brand has performed in the last 12-18 months, highlighting which hardware, software and services have excelled. Likely expect a big chunk of focus to go towards DSM 7’s rollout and how it has picked up on the last 6-7 months (outside of Beta’s and the RC). Synology has the following to say on their own News Room pages:

Synology Inc. today announced its virtual annual event will premiere on December 2, 2021.

On the heels of this year’s packed release calendar, 2022 AND BEYOND previews key improvements to core storage features and much-anticipated updates to networking and surveillance solutions, with major announcements across Surveillance Station, SRM, and DSM.

Major themes this year are performance, reliability, and security, with new features changing how users secure their data, networks, and physical assets, sync and share files, and manage large deployments.

So, not a huge amount to go on. However, the mention of the SRM platform is encouraging, as many have been wondering about the next step for the Synology router series (with continued information flying around regarding a WiFi 6 solution. Likewise, the mention of major updates on Surveillance station is something to wonder about – given the brand’s huge priority of their NVR hardware/software system. There has been a big, BIG focus in 2021 so far to Synology promoting their cloud C2 services, along with a lot of client applications for personal and business security, so how these will integrate into the rest of the existing Synology ecosystem is likely to be discussed too.

Of course, many users would like to see a big focus shift onto hardware – where are the 64bit ARM refreshes of the 1/2/4-bay ranges (DS122, DS222, DS422 and the PLAY series have been quiet for quite a while). Equally, with a big jump in their media ranges and support in the enterprise-level systems, will we start seeing some better support for U.2, SAS SSD or a new Flashstation? It’s too early to say and we will know in a little over a week. Expect a full write up here on NASCompares, as well as coverage of everything we learnt shortly after the event.

Here is the summary of Synology 2021 Event from last year:

 


Articles Get Updated Regularly - Get an alert every time something gets added to this page!


This description contains links to Amazon. These links will take you to some of the products mentioned in today's content. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. Visit the NASCompares Deal Finder to find the best place to buy this device in your region, based on Service, Support and Reputation - Just Search for your NAS Drive in the Box Below

 

SEARCH IN THE BOX BELOW FOR NAS DEALS

Need Advice on Data Storage from an Expert?

We want to keep the free advice on NASCompares FREE for as long as we can. Since this service started back in Jan '18, We have helped hundreds of users every month solve their storage woes, but we can only continue to do this with your support. So please do choose to buy at Amazon US and Amazon UK on the articles when buying to provide advert revenue support or to donate/support the site below. Finally, for free advice about your setup, just leave a message in the comments below here at NASCompares.com and we will get back to you. Need Help? Where possible (and where appropriate) please provide as much information about your requirements, as then I can arrange the best answer and solution to your needs. Do not worry about your e-mail address being required, it will NOT be used in a mailing list and will NOT be used in any way other than to respond to your enquiry.

    By clicking SEND you accept this Privacy Policy

    Terms and Conditions Alternatively, why not ask me on the ASK NASCompares forum, by clicking the button below. This is a community hub that serves as a place that I can answer your question, chew the fat, share new release information and even get corrections posted. I will always get around to answering ALL queries, but as a one-man operation, I cannot promise speed! So by sharing your query in the ASK NASCompares section below, you can get a better range of solutions and suggestions, alongside my own.  

     

    Leave a Reply